Chris Capre's  Instablog

Chris Capre
Send Message
Chris Capre is a professional forex, index futures and commodities trader, specializing in Price Action & Ichimoku trading. Chris applies his methods to the markets both intraday and medium term swing trading, and has been trading for over 13 years. He is also the manager for a private fund... More
My company:
2ndSkiesForex
My blog:
2ndSkiesForex
My book:
Trading Price Action and Pivot Points
  • Price Action Setup - AUD/USD Inside Bar - Downside Break? Aug. 13th 0 comments
    Aug 13, 2012 6:37 PM

    AUDUSD
    As I talked about in yesterday's price action & ichimoku outlook, the price action for the Aussie communicated it was likely running out of steam and the pair may be rolling over. Although the pair hasn't made major ground or broken the key support level at 1.0496, it did form a daily inside bar.

    Although this is not uncommon per se during consolidations, the fact it happened after a with trend pin bar and closed for the second day down, suggests a continual weakening in this uptrend. Keep in mind, since the June 1st pin bar and yearly bottom, there have been 52 trading days with 32 bull closes and 20 bear closes. Of those 20 bear closes, only 6 (30%) have been followed by another bear close.

    From a short term perspective, there is a range in play which is the high and low of the with trend pin bar. But today's inside bar had a stronger close towards the bottom with a longer rejection wick at the top so the pressure for the day was mostly down. If the 1.0496 level fails to hold tomorrow, I'm expecting a move to 1.0445/50 which houses the daily 20ema and the Aug. swing lows so a possible level for bulls while being a nice bear target for intraday players.

    (click to enlarge)inside bar pin bar price action trading 2ndskiesforex.com aug 13th
    For those wanting to learn to trade price action, get access to the traders forum, quantitative data on price action, lifetime membership & more, visit my forex price action course page.

    Global Market Commentary:
    While summer volatility remains low and global investors sit on the sidelines, wondering when the next CB will come in and prop up the stock markets rescue distressed economies, global indices took a small pause with mild losses from Asia, to Europe and over to the US, losing anywhere from .07% - .5% so mild losses across the board.

    Japan's growth was well below expectations along with Chinese consumption data also coming in sub par, hinting at a cool down in the strongest Asian economy. Frau Merkel is back from vacation and there are still doubts the High Court will consider the ESM a legal mechanism for bailing out Spain and Greece (which would put a damper in the region). Needless to say money between the regions has dried up considerably, which doesn't help distressed economies.

    Speaking of Greece, as nothing has been really solved there, talks about preparing for a Grexit continue to get louder, which may be an already inevitable consequence at this point.

    Although volatility has been low as of late, expect tomorrow to have a little more steam in its stride with a host of important economic events on the docket.

    Upcoming Economic Events:

    CNY Actual FDI (YoY) 00.00GMT 20.00EST
    AUD NAB Business Confidence 01.30GMT 21.30EST
    EUR French Gross Domestic Product (YoY) 05.30GMT 01.30EST
    EUR German Gross Domestic Product n.s.a. (YoY) 06.00GMT 02.0EST
    GBP Core Consumer Price Index (YoY) 08.30GMT 04.30EST
    EUR Euro-Zone Gross Domestic Product s.a. (YoY) 09.00GMT 05.00EST
    USD Advance Retail Sales 12.30GMT 08.30EST
Back To Chris Capre's Instablog HomePage »

Instablogs are blogs which are instantly set up and networked within the Seeking Alpha community. Instablog posts are not selected, edited or screened by Seeking Alpha editors, in contrast to contributors' articles.

Comments (0)
Track new comments
Be the first to comment
Full index of posts »
Latest Followers

StockTalks

More »

Latest Comments


Instablogs are Seeking Alpha's free blogging platform customized for finance, with instant set up and exposure to millions of readers interested in the financial markets. Publish your own instablog in minutes.